Announcing the winners of the Students' Union awards

We’re delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Students’ Union awards.

Announcing this year's students' union awards winners. congratulations from East London Students' Un

We’re delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Students’ Union awards.

The Students’ Union awards are how we celebrate the staff that make the University of East London great.

All our winners and runners-up have been nominated by students who felt that their nominees went above and beyond last academic year. It’s thanks to academic and professional staff like our winners - and all the nominees - that the University of East London is such a great place to study.

Education Officer Aswin Mathew said:

"Congratulations to the exceptional individuals who have set a shining example within the University’s staff community. Your dedication and passion have made – and continue to make – a brilliant impact on our community, and we're honoured to recognise your outstanding efforts and unwavering commitment on behalf of our students”.

From all of us at East London Students’ Union, congratulations to all our winners and runners-up and thank you for all that you do.

And the winners are:

Best academic advisor:

Winner: Andrew Boocock (B&L)

Runners-up: Caroline McGlynn (E&C) and Karine Goudout (ACI)

Best professional staff:
Winner: Cerys Davies (Disability and Dyslexia Advisor)

Runners-up: Kevin Head (Technician) and Nurun Choudhury (B&L)

Best creative teacher:
Winner: Fay McIntyre (PSY)

Runners-up: Emma Collins (HSB) and Mitra Saeedi (B&L)

Most effective feedback:

Winner: Khurram Riaz (B&L)

Runners-up: Michael Palkowski (B&L) and Aidan Kelly (B&L)

Most effective supervisor:

Winner: Nadia Habashi (B&L)

Runners-up: Sonya Dineva (PSY) and Ruksana Beigi (E&C)

Outstanding teacher of the year:

Winner: Stephen Thompson (HSB)

Runners-up: Hanna Kampman (PSY) and John Turner (PSY)